Swedish traditional folksong – När som jag var på mitt adertonde år


Another swedish traditional folksong; “När som jag var på mitt adertonde år” (As I was on my eighteenth year)

När som jag var på mitt adertonde år, det var en vacker gosse som föll uti min håg. Den tänkte jag förevigt att få äga. Men denna min tanke rätt snarelig försvann, det var en annan flicka som lades i hans famn. Den liknar han vid rosende blomma. Nog än jag hållit fader och moder så kär, samt syskon och vänner, som älskat mig här, så går dock denna kärlek över alla. Tack för att du varit min endaste tröst och tack för alla stunder jag vilat vid ditt bröst. I himmlen skall vi åter bli förenta.

When I was on my eighteenth year, there were a beautiful boy that I liked* Him I wanted to own forever. But this my thought was soon to disapear. There was anouther girl who was put into his arms. Her he likens to a rosy flower. Though I have treasured my father and mother dearly, aswell as siblings and friends who have loved me here, this love surpasses them all. Thank you for being my sole consolation and thank you for all the times I’ve rested on your chest. In heaven shall we be united again.

3 thoughts on “Swedish traditional folksong – När som jag var på mitt adertonde år

  1. Amanda says:

    So this is a song that she means she will die for the guy (who has another girl?). It’s a beautiful song, pretty tragic and sad :/ It seems liek it really hurt 😦

  2. These old songs often are quite tragic.
    And in a rural setting and a time of less travelling “the one” probably really fealt more literally “the one” (and you might have to see the person all the time about the village).

    Beautiful, but tragic!

    • Amanda, UFPI says:

      Yeah, very tragic I like folk songs a lot actually, there are some nice Irish folk songs like The moorlough shore and this one “she moved through the fair” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9SWUKz351Y. They used to be my favorites but now really this is my current favorite Folk song, really unique and rich and excellent interpretation too. Loving it, thanks for the translation. Indeed if you see within the context the pain would be much bigger nowadays affection and relations are much more volatile so the “one” would really feel like the one within a very limited number of possibilities, also probable material limitations and not many ways on how to deal with that. To be honest here my great grandfather became “ill” and let himself die starving and of thirst after his wife died during labor, I believe these relations then were much less volatile and more concrete specially in a (rural) context that life expectancy was shorter your family would die pretty quickly and soon you’d be restricted to very abridged social relations and also the geographical distance in between the houses and villages making the social relations more restrict so I guess losing this “loved” person would really be painful. :t

Leave a comment